Make your own free website on Tripod.com

English Summary

¿Do you want to know something about the history and development of Horizon in Chile?

.... ¡¡ Welcome !!

Chilean users of the Horizon Library System met in June of 1996, forming the official Chilean Horizon Users Group, as an initiative of consultancy, support, cooperation and shared knowledge throughout the country.

Our common goal is to enhance the use and capabilities of Horizon in our libraries, and in consequence, to improve our processes and services, sharing experience, news and knowledge that allow us to face all the challenges that the growing world of library automation presents us.

We are making history in the Chilean library automation story, because we are the first official User Group formed in the country. Cordially, we invite all our appreciated colleagues throughout the world, to visit our WebPage and give us your comments, suggests and, of course, criticism. This will be very appreciated.

Please, send your comments, news, suggests and criticism to the Board of the Group.

______________________________________________________________

Members and their E-Mail Addresses:

1. Universidad de Antofagasta.

System Manager: Alba Contreras (acontreras@uantof.cl)

______________________________________________________________

2. Universidad de La Serena.

System Manager: Cherie Araya (charaya@userena.cl)

______________________________________________________________

3. Universidad Federico Santa María.

System Manager: Lidia Ellis (lellis@bib.utfsm.cl)

______________________________________________________________

4. Library of Congress.

System Manager: Erika Fernández (efernandez@biblioteca.congreso.cl)

______________________________________________________________

5. Universidad Diego Portales.

System Manager: Virginia Figueroa (virginia.figueroa@udp.cl)

______________________________________________________________

6. Universidad Nacional Andrés Bello.

System Manager: Rodrigo Jorquera B. (rjorque@unab.cl)

______________________________________________________________

7. Ministerio de Obras Públicas. Dirección General de Aguas.

System Manager: Luis Huerta (lhuerta@mop.cl)

______________________________________________________________

8. Universidad Metropolitana de Ciencias de la Educación.

System Manager: Ernesto Alvarez (ealvarez@umce.cl)

______________________________________________________________

9. Universidad de Talca.

System Manager: Patricia Sepúlveda (psepulve@pehuenche.utalca.cl)

______________________________________________________________

10. Universidad Católica del Maule.

System Manager: Daniel González (dgonzale@hualo.ucm.cl)

______________________________________________________________

11. Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción.

System Manager: Patricio Febre (pfebre@ucsc.cl)

______________________________________________________________

12. Universidad de La Frontera.

System Manager: Erika Fica (efica@ufro.cl)

______________________________________________________________

13. Universidad Austral de Chile.

System Manager: Luis Vera (lvera@uach.cl)

______________________________________________________________

14. Universidad de Magallanes.

System Manager: Sara Yusta (syusta@yagan.fh.umag.cl)

______________________________________________________________

15. Universidad Gabriela Mistral.

System Manager: Paola Roncatti (proncatti@ugm.cl)

______________________________________________________________

16. Universidad Tecnológica Vicente Pérez Rosales.

System Manager : Claudia Gilardoni S. (claudia.gilardoni@upper.cl)

__________________________________________________________________

Board:

President: Mrs. Sara Yusta M.

Vice President: Mrs. Patricia Sepúlveda.

Secretary: Ms. Cherie Araya.

__________________________________________________________________

A Brief History of Horizon in Chile.

The first Chilean institution implementing Horizon was the University of Talca, in June 1995. This regional university acquired PAC, CAT and CIRC modules running under a WinNT server.

Many other institutions became Horizon users since 1995, mainly universities and a few public institutions like our Library of Congress and government organizations. The biggest Horizon client in Chile is the Library of Congress, with all the modules implemented in 50 clients and hundreds of online catalogs under WUI and CHUI.

In January 2001, many Chilean clients started their updating projects to the version 5.3 of Horizon library system. With the support and assistance of Macrotec, local distributor for Latin America, in the period January to March 2001, at least six institutions succeeded in their modernization processes, including in most cases the complete renovation of their servers and clients. Examples of the institutions with 5.3 are: Universidad Diego Portales (www.udp.cl), Universidad Andres Bello (www.unab.cl), Universidad de La Serena (www.userena.cl) and Universidad Catolica del Maule (www.ucm.cl). Some Horizon clients are implementing WebPAC to provide their users access to Horizon databases through the WWW.

Our Meetings

1st meeting : June 1996. Place: Universidad Federico Santa María. Valparaíso.

2nd meeting : September 1996. Place: ENDESA Library. Santiago.

3rd meeting : December 1996. Place: Universidad Andrés Bello. Santiago.

4th meeting : April 1997. Place: Universidad Diego Portales. Santiago.

5th meeting : November 1997. Place: Universidad de Talca. Talca.

6th meeting : April 1998. Place: ENDESA Library. Santiago.

7th meeting : October 1998. Place: Universidad de La Serena. La Serena.

8th meeting : 15-16 November 2001. Place: Universidad Católica del Maule. Talca.

9th meeting : 21-22 November 2002. Place: Universidad Católica del Maule. Talca.

10th meeting : 21-22 November 2003. Place: Universidad Austral de Chile. Valdivia. ______________________________________________________________________

Back to the Main Page